Chocolate Coffee Cupcakes

27 Mar

You’d think that anyone who loves cupcakes as much as I do would have made them at least once. Right? RIGHT?! Yet, thinking about it earlier this week, as I walked by yet another tempting cupcake store (and bravely resisted the temptation to buy one), I realized that I never have! Not. One. Single. Time.

Which, really, is scandalous. And a situation that I felt the need to rectify at once. Or as soon as possible. Like today. And, since I had some dark chocolate covered espresso beans, which would make a delicious topping, Chocolate Coffee Cupcakes it was.

Chocolate Coffee Cupcakes

As I clearly am a novice at cupcake making (first time!), I decided to hunt the interwebs for a delicious cupcake recipe to try…

I found one here, from A Baked Creation. Since I basically followed their recipe/instructions exactly on this first effort (minus adding some salt and ground coffee to the frosting), I’ll just link to their recipe. Of course, their frosting looks *much* prettier than my semi-falling apart and separating version… Still delicious, though!

And, soon enough, there will only be this many left….

Last Chocolate Coffee Cupcake

Oops.

8 Responses to “Chocolate Coffee Cupcakes”

  1. smallkitchenbigideas March 30, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    Great job frosting the cupcakes especially if this is your first time making them.

    • K March 31, 2009 at 8:41 am #

      Ha… thanks… but you should have seen them after the frosting started melting… absolutely hilarious! But, I shall persevere!

  2. nick March 30, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    Excellent, photos look good, you gonna send them in anywhere?

    • K March 31, 2009 at 8:43 am #

      Thanks! Picked up by foodgawker and serious eats’ photograzing, but tastespotting turned them down… Still, good ratio, I feel! 🙂

  3. LunaCafe March 31, 2009 at 1:02 am #

    These look great! I can taste that silky buttercream frosting from here (the Cascade foothills)! I’m with you, in that I rarely make cupcakes. I have no idea why not. That will change tomorrow though as I am expecting a delivery of several types of very cool cupcake liners. It’s ridiculous to be this excited about … cupcake liners… but I’m sure you understand. 🙂

    • K March 31, 2009 at 8:44 am #

      Ooo Mountains! I love mountains! Jealous… about that and the cupcake liners… Not, of course, that I didn’t buy two different kinds just for this one batch of cupcakes. Oh no.

  4. S April 19, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    Those look great! These cupcakes were definitely yummy! Love how you added the chocolate covered espresso bean on top! So cute!

  5. Shreeya July 4, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

    having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

Leave a Reply

