So easy… how did I not know this?

27 Feb

Everywhere I’ve looked lately, I’ve seen pictures of peanut butter crazed bloggers.  Swearing up and down that it *is* that easy to make peanut butter.  But, I’ve never believed them.  I’ve scoffed at them.  Laughed.  Because, really.  If it were that easy, why wouldn’t everyone be doing it?  Why would it be so common to buy it in the store?  

Of course, giving them the benefit of the doubt, and even if it were that easy, I was sure that it tasted horrible.  Absolutely dreadful.  Gross.  Bland.  Slimy.  You get the picture, right?

Eventually, of course, the curiosity overcame me.  The pictures of tempting peanut butter overcame my doubt.  I had to try it.  

 

Homemade, Creamy Peanut Butter

Homemade, Creamy Peanut Butter

And it was delicious.  And easy.  And oh so much better than store-bought.  My life has changed for the better.

Creamy Peanut Butter

  • 1 cup peanuts
  • 1 tablespoon of peanut oil or vegetable oil
  • salt, to taste
  • sugar, to taste

Place 1/4 cup of peanuts in blender.  Blend for a minute or two, until finely chopped and beginning to cream.  Drizzle in the oil, and blend again until liquid and runny.  Begin adding the remainder of the peanuts, and blend until almost, but not quite, the desired consistency.  Personally, I love love love very creamy peanut butter, so I blended mine very thoroughly.  If you want it more chunky, just blend it for a shorter period of time.  At the end, season to taste, and then blend for another quick second to add the seasonings and to finish off the peanut butter to your desired finish!  Remove peanut butter from blender, and store in the refrigerator.

7 Responses to “So easy… how did I not know this?”

  1. justine March 1, 2009 at 11:33 pm #

    Wow…. it’s so easy! I might try this and make it creamy and then stir in some whole peanuts for a crunch and maybe some honey, too.

  2. bakingblonde March 2, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    Wow, I really should try this at home. So much cheaper than Organic PB and with the PB scares out there, what better way to enjoy one of my favorite foods? Thanks!

  3. Megan March 7, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    I just made this and you are right — so easy and so yummy!!

  4. Brittany (He Cooks She Cooks) March 17, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I never really had any desire before, but now I am very curious to try to make my own. I like doing things homemade that we so often buy in the store. This sounds like one of those things that might be worth a little extra effort.

    • K March 17, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

      You definitely should! Really, it’s almost as easy as pulling a jar off the shelf in a store. :o) And just as delicious.

  5. Viki January 19, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Nem rossz és tényleg könnyü elkésziteni ??? 🙂 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe Round-Up! ~ Feb 21-27 Sugared Ellipses . . . - March 30, 2009

    […] looks to be a more chunky Homemade Peanut Butter. The second looks decidedly creamier, hence the  Creamy Peanut Butter moniker from So Say […]

Leave a Reply

